Mock Draft Watch – NFL Draft Dog 27th Feb

Gabe Carimi, projected to the Patriots at #17 in this mock.

I thought it might be a cool new feature for the blog to write about any particularly interesting mock drafts I see and who they had the Patriots selecting. Today I was reading the mock draft on NFL Draft Dog (a very good site that I like a lot) and I thought it would be a good one  to start off on. The mock was last updated on the 27th Feb and can be found here until it’s next updated. It is a 1st round mock.

– Patriots Selection at #17 – Gabe Carimi, OT, Wisconsin. I thought this would be a  pretty good pick for the Pats, but I thought it brought up an interesting fact about this year’s OT class. NFL Draft Dog has Nate Solder going first for the position, to the Lions at #13, Carimi second then Tyron Smith (#20), Derrick Sherrod (#23) and Anthony Castonzo at #29. On the other hand, I’ve seen some people who think Castonzo is the best tackle in the class, others think Smith. This is the first place I’ve seen Solder rated the highest. I like Carimi but I’d be tempted to wait til #28 for a tackle if you think Castonzo would still be on the board.

– Patriots Selection at #28 – Ryan Kerrigan, DE/OLB, Purdue. I don’t like this selection. NFL Draft Dog described him as a “steal” at 28 and likely to go before then. I think Kerrigan is too stiff to play effective coverage in the Patriots’ system as an OLB and a much better fit in a 4-3 D. DT Muhammad Wilkerson (Temple) goes 2 picks later in the mock to the Steelers. I’d much rather take Wilkerson for the D-line than Kerrigan as a LB conversion.

That’s what I made of the Patriots’ selections in this mock. One good one bad in my eyes. I’d have mixed emotions about this if the 1st round went this way in April.

Leave a Reply

